A Break from Promoting

I just read Rebecca Zanetti’s blog article, “Ten Things I’ve Learned after My First Book was Released.” She created a fun checklist for those of us perched on the edge of our seats waiting for our own publication. As part of my push toward finding an agent and editor, I’ve been broadening my web presence by joining Twitter, creating a Facebook Page, and joining various online loops. It’s what we’re ‘supposed’ to do, right?

Then today I read number eight in Rebecca’s blog post.

8)    Promotion and social media are a must.  But writing the story should always come first.

Ouch.

I have toyed with the plot of my next book. Started a short story set in the Botanicaust world. Dawdled over some final edits a crit partner sent me. I even made dill pickles and blogged about it. But I have not applied myself to writing in earnest for over three weeks.

I can tell myself I’m dreaming out the plot, sell myself on the idea that I NEED to work on my promotion platform, promise I will get to it as soon as … whatever. But the deal is I need to sit my butt in the chair and write.

So, enough already. On to Book Two.

And by the way, I get the irony of the fact I wrote a blog about this instead of just hunkering down to write. 🙂

4 thoughts on “A Break from Promoting

  1. Casey Wyatt

    Tam, I am guilty of all of the above. Except I didn’t make pickles (though I did stop by and comment on your lovely pickles). I find that I accomplish things in bursts. I go weeks at a time, chugging along, then I need to take a mental break. So don’t beat yourself up too much. At least you know you’re avoiding and that’s half the battle!

    Reply
  2. Tam Linsey Post author

    I think I do the “burst” thing as well. I’m totally jealous you finished your manuscript so quickly, though. I think I’ll set myself a word goal, too.

    Reply
      1. Tam Linsey Post author

        You’re on! I’m painting the house this weekend (assuming no rain) but I think I can still pump out my short story by this time next week.

Leave a Reply

