Cancer

Cancer has been on my mind a lot lately. A dear friend has been diagnosed with ovarian cancer. She is one of the most confidant people I know, unafraid to try new things and explore life. Only last week she was hiking a mountain. I went dancing with her a month ago.

And now she has cancer.

Ovarian cancer is one of the most difficult to detect until it has progressed to significant levels. She’s at stage three. The cancer cells have spread beyond her ovaries. The doctor found and removed growths from several locations, but likely there are other cancerous spots as yet undetected. My friend has undergone two surgeries, and now faces chemotherapy.

And she is afraid. We all are.

What can she do, in addition to surgery and chemotherapy? I’m thinking diet may help. I just watched an interesting TED video on angiogenesis, the process our bodies use to grow blood vessels. Cancer cells can’t grow without a blood supply, and apparently studies show that certain foods can help control abnormal blood vessel growth, which supplies cancer cells. She is already on this path, having bought a juicer a couple of days ago.

So I encourage you, dear readers, get your annual check up. Encourage your loved ones to do the same. Listen to your body. Eat right.

And always live today as if it might be your last.

© Tam Linsey, 2011. All rights reserved.

7 thoughts on “Cancer

  1. Julie

    The cause of your friend’s cancer could be due to estrogen dominance. I am convinced that I am and have been studying on the subject and seeking out doctors to work with. I am creating a natural supplement diet, and exercise plan to help treat this for myself. I am currently cutting out sugar and simple starches as much as possible, adding fiber to everything, and have ordered supplements that are both estrogen balancing and are believed to aid in cancer: DIM (by nature’s way)or otherwise known as Diindolylmethane, Calcium-d-Glucarate, and bromelain (a digestive enzyme that helps digest protein derived from pineapple) to hopefully get rid of my fibroids, and Emirta’s Pro-gest natural progesterone cream. With the exception of the progesterone cream, all the supplements I listed seem to be a great thing to add to anyone’s supplement plan anyways and it can’t hurt! Hope this helps. Here’s a link that might help in regards to estrogen dominance:
    http://www.drhoffman.com/page.cfm/183
    You might want to also watch the documentary the gerson miracle. Here is my review of it with a link to watch on hulu:
    http://theurbanhomestaed.blogspot.com/2011/02/review-of-documentary-gerson-miracle.html

    Reply
    1. Tam Linsey Post author

      Gosh, Julie, thank you so much for your input on this. I think all women can benefit from paying attention to hormonal balancing.
      Unfortunately, my friend died only three weeks ago from the cancer. I was too grieved to post about it at the time. I appreciate your support, and wish you all luck in your own battle with hormones.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

