Diabetic Flourless Chocolate Cake

English: Disengaged base and wall of springfor...

Image via Wikipedia

I have a bumper sticker from Penzey’s Spices on my refrigerator. “Love People, Feed Them Tasty Food.” Why do people pull together around food? Food is a deep, primitive need that binds us together as humans. What do we do at social gatherings? Eat and drink. Where do people always end up gathering in a home? The kitchen.

Yet I have a lot of friends with special food needs. Diabetics. Vegetarians. Lactose intolerance. Nut and seafood allergies. I myself am gluten intolerant. But that only makes our potlucks that much more fun. “I brought these gluten free pretzels for you.” “I made this with soy milk.” “This is sweetened with agave.”

We make each other happy with food.

Here’s one of my favorite recipes that most of my friends can enjoy. (Warning, this is not for the faint of heart when it comes to chocolate.)

Diabetic flourless chocolate cake

  • 7 oz good quality dark chocolate (I use 2 Lindt 85% bars, but you can go lower percentage)
  • 7 oz butter (or margarine for the lactose intolerant)
  • 4 eggs, separated
  • 1 cup xylitol, separated (it’s a natural diabetic sweetener – look in the health food section.)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Line a 9″ springform pan with parchment paper on the bottom. Preheat oven to 350.

In a double boiler, melt the butter and chocolate until smooth. Remove from heat.

In a large bowl, mix 4 egg yolks with 1/2 c. xylitol. Fold the two mixtures together.

With an electric mixer, beat 4 egg whites until soft peaks form, then slowly add another 1/2 c. xylitol, beating until stiff peaks form. Add a teaspoon of vanilla. Fold this into chocolate mixture.

Pour into the springform pan and bake for 40 mins. Cool on wire rack 10 minutes, then with a thin blade, run around the edges of the pan to loosen the cake before releasing the springform. Cool completely before serving. May be served with whipped cream (you can also buy soy-based whipped cream.)

Let me know how you like it!

Using agave syrup amendment: 12/28/2011 If you’d like to try making this with agave syrup, replace the 1 cup of xylitol with 3/4 cup of agave, separated.

© Tam Linsey, 2011. All rights reserved.

20 thoughts on “Diabetic Flourless Chocolate Cake

  1. rubyophelia

    I love that you and your friends are as complicated as mine! It’s brilliant though as it makes everyone that much more interested in what each other is eating, and I’ve found it’s opened up so many doors for me in terms of what I try!

    This cake sounds v yummy and I love that it’s flour-less (i’m wheat and gluten intolerant!).

    Thank you!

    Rubelle’s Moon

    Reply
    1. Tam Linsey Post author

      I, too, have tried many new things because of my friends food needs. I think I helps me be healthier. Thanks for commenting, and I hope you get a chance to try the recipe.

      Reply
  2. Deb

    Tam, this one is a keeper. Can’t wait to try it. All that rich chocolate….mmmm!

    Writing too, to say that I love your blog background! Colors and patterns blend so well with your header. Exactly what is that gorgeous background? So curious….

    Reply
    1. Tam Linsey Post author

      Thanks, Deb! I’m glad you like the website. The background is an image I purchased from 123rf.com. It is a DNA spiral. The image of the face in my header is also an image purchased through them, but I had to adjust the colors a hair to make it all match.

      Reply
      1. Deb

        I thought it might be DNA but the colors make it so surreal. Lovely, but then science is. Wish I had a better brain for it all. Guess that’s why I’m a sci-fi reader more than a sci-fact one. 🙂

  3. Marg

    I have been noticing the complications around food more and more recently. In a newly acquired circle of acquaintances there are just about every kind of intolerance going!

    This looks delcious though!

    Reply
  4. Tam Linsey Post author

    I notice the same trend. I wonder if we are just more aware of / sensitive to food issue than previous generations, or if something has changed in our food supply. There are those who point fingers at genetically modified crops in our food supply – I wish the US would require labeling so I know what I am eating!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

