Spring is Coming. Really

My last post talked about grasping for a taste of summer by making strawberry liqueur. Here is a photo of my tomato (and other) seedlings as we wait for spring.

It’s good there’s no gardening to be done yet outside, because I’m focused on my writing right now. My #WriteMotivation goals are on track, with a total of 7K words written so far on my next novel (plus a short story which is poking me for attention), my critiques for fellow writers done, and my chapters-to-date compiled for my beta readers.

In another month, there will still be snow, but the greenhouse will be cleared and I will be tending cutting lettuce and my other transplants within. And six weeks from now, I will be repairing garden beds, turning soil, and spreading cool weather seeds.

Hard to believe with that snow pack outside, isn’t it?

Breakup, as we call the spring thaw in Alaska, happens fast. Once the sun passes the equinox, snow melts fast. And I will be forced to put writing on a back burner as I take advantage of our short summer. Short summer, but long daylight. There will not even be time for writing after sunset. I’ve been known to pull dandelions at midnight.

So cheer me on, now. While the snow keeps me tapping away at the keys. I’ve got the gardening itch.

© Tam Linsey, 2011. All rights reserved.

10 thoughts on “Spring is Coming. Really

  1. kzackuslheureux

    Hey, I really like your page. It looks fabulous! I’ve been in marketing for a decade, not my first choice career, but it it helps me spot someone who cares.
    Is there just something about gardeners that they love to write, or is it writers that love to garden? It seems you are much more organized than I am. Happy Writing!

    Reply
  2. Tam Linsey Post author

    Thanks, K. I’ve found gardeners to be a caring bunch in many aspects. Plant a Row for the Hungry!
    And thanks for thinking I’m organized! Wow! I don’t feel that way at all.
    Your well wishes are greatly appreciated 🙂

    Reply
  3. Alessandra

    Gardening! Man, I still haven’t started my tomatoes and peppers yet. I need to get on that this weekend. I’m further south than you though so at least my growing season is longer.

    Reply
    1. Tam Linsey Post author

      Almost everyone is further south than we are 🙂 Our first fall frost usually comes at the end of August, although the last few years we’ve gone well into September. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  4. Ann Cory

    Yay! Wonderful to hear how well you’re doing 🙂 And I’m so aching to get into the garden. Course I say that and look outside and grimace at the snow. It’s March – I don’t want to see snow! lol

    Keep up that fabulous word count – you’re doing awesome! Go writemotivation!! 🙂

    Reply
  5. DeNise

    No seeds started, but I pulled the saved Begonia bulbs out of their dark hole and “-) they have eager little two inch eyes bursting with energy. They think it’s time-even if they can’t see the two feet of snow on the green house roof. Argh-spring, tell me it will come.

    Reply
  6. tinyokgardener

    Grinning, I love your description of all the things that can and will go wrong in a simple chicken coop!

    I had a skunk problem early this winter, however a motion censer light and a 12 gauge shot gun soon fixed my skunk problem. I plan on running a 3 inch thick cement floor this summer, it will stop critters tunneling under walls and make litter removal easier.

    Happy Gardening and a successful tomato crop.

    Reply
    1. Tam Linsey Post author

      Chickens are fun, for sure. And we try to avoid the shotgun solution because we are on a small lot in the suburbs. (Unless it’s a bear, then we have at it.) Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

