Salmon Dip Recipes

I realized it has been a while since I posted something. Summer in Alaska doesn’t leave much time to slow down. Next week we begin butchering chickens. In three weeks we hit the river for dipnetting salmon. In between it all is weeding and watering the garden.

On busy days like this, when the sun is out and stays up forever, dinner is not much more than a bowl of salmon dip in the refrigerator to which people can help themselves. I’ve been asked no less than three times in the last few weeks for my recipes, so I thought I’d share (since I’m writing them down to email them, anyway!)

Mexican Style Salmon Dip

  • 1 pint jar canned salmon, drained
  • 2-3 T. sour cream
  • 2-3 T. mayonnaise
  • 1 T. Penzey’s Adobo Seasoning (I don’t get kickback from them. They are just my favorite spice company.)
  • 1 t. onion powder
  • 2 T. chopped fresh cilantro
  • cayenne pepper to taste

Mix it all together and enjoy with tortilla chips or other crackers. Also great with thinly sliced jicama or kohlrabi.

Horseradish Salmon Dip

  • 1 pint jar smoked, canned salmon, drained
  • 2-3 T. sour cream
  • 2-3 T. mayonnaise
  • 2 T. chopped sweet onion
  • 1-2 t. ground horseradish (or to taste)

Mix together and enjoy with crackers, veggies, or as a sandwich filling. Delicious with a selection of cheeses as an hors d’oeuvres plate.

Time to hit the garden again! Enjoy!

13 thoughts on “Salmon Dip Recipes

  1. Diana Layne

    Yum, the Mexican dip looks amazing. About your garden, you have some sort of plastic to help warm it up? What are the day/nite temps there? Here in TX it’s in the 100s right now, but I’m wondering how early (what temps) I could plant if I used that plastic to warm the ground?

    Reply
    1. Tam Linsey Post author

      Well, we had a scorcher today and it reached 74 – lol! But some summers we stay in the mid 60’s. I have brown paper on my soil for weed suppression right now, but for some heat loving plants I use IRT (infrared transmitting) plastic mulch.

      If you are wanting to plant early, you might consider using a Wall o’Water for single plants (see that brilliant green blob to the far left on the last picture in this post? There’s a pumpkin plant in it.) I use them and can plant when night temps are still going down into the 30’s.

      I think it would be interesting to try to grow in the opposite extreme like you have in TX. I imagine you have to find ways to keep plants cool?

      Reply
      1. Diana Layne

        we have to get planted by March (Feb for some plants) and the garden should be done by late May or early June b/c it’s too hot then. One time I planted lettuce in late September and it actually grew all winter, and we even had a touch of snow that winter, was still around in March, but as soon as the heat hit it, it was gone. I’m a beginning gardener and part of the problem I have in this house is there’s so many trees, it’s hard to find the sunshine for enough hours. Thanks for the tips!

      2. Tam Linsey Post author

        Wow! We can’t even plant out until May – usually late May. And my first killing frost usually happens the last day of August or so. But our long hours of daylight make everything grow gangbusters. I love hearing gardening stories from different areas. Make sure you check with your Cooperative Extension office for free publications on gardening in your area. They likely have lots of tips.

  2. Pingback: Mmm Monday: Salmon Trick! « My So-Called Geek Girl Life

Leave a Reply

