School has Begun – Time to Write

SeptemberNotice the new look? I’m generally not a fan of white letters on dark background, but I thought this looked pretty good. I need to figure out how to put those small button icons for Facebook and Twitter and email follows in my sidebar, so they take up less room. I might move into a premium WordPress theme to make this website look the way I envision.

I’ve been working on promotion the entire month of August – hope you’re not sick of me yet. I have a guest post with The Book Boost September 10th, a book signing at Gulliver’s Books in Fairbanks (the northernmost, full service bookstore in America!)Location of Fairbanks, Alaska September 13th, plans to participate in Alaska Book Week October 6-13, and a blog tour set up to begin October 23rd. I have been contacting reviewers to read Botanicaust, with several takers already. I entered one Indie author contest with plans to enter another, plus I’ve been on Facebook and Twitter.

The need to actually write is beginning to really itch.

So I’ve joined the September Writemotivation challenge. This month I had to include some real life items on the list, because, hey, it’s September, and we only have a few days of “work outside” weather left.

1. Write 15K words on next manuscript by month’s end. This is by far the most important item on the list. One reviewer is already looking forward to the sequel to Botanicaust, so I need to get cracking.

2. Contact 5 (minimum) review sites to ask for reviews of Botanicaust.  If you have a review blog or paper, feel free to contact me and we’ll work out a complimentary copy of the book.

3. Harvest the garden and shut it down for winter. Why am I so gung-ho in spring, but in autumn I barely want to look at the garden? Oh, yeah – that ugly word “cleaning” is involved. That must be it.

4. Read and critique 4 (minimum) stories on SFF.Online.com. I have developed some wonderful author relationships via this website and I’d like to maintain the relationships.

5. Hunt moose (1 week.) Like I said – it’s September.

6. Read and critique CP partner’s manuscript. My local critique group keeps me sane.

7. Butcher pigs 1 week. By October, we’ll be working in snow, which sucks for butchering.

8. Post a blog a week (minimum.) ‘Nuf said.

9. Eat lots of #writemotivation cookies. *big smile* If you would like to join us, use the hashtag #writemotivation on Twitter.

Which of these items are you most interested in being updated about? I’d like to know. That way I won’t bore you with promotion.

9 thoughts on “School has Begun – Time to Write

  1. DeNise

    I live here too, so how do you put your garden to bed? The moose hunt, canning and writing are all too familiar–but I can never seem to get enough gardening info.
    The Raspberries you shared are producing like crazy-wait until spring to cut them back?

    Reply
    1. Tam Linsey Post author

      I can always talk gardening – lol!
      Wait until spring to cut back the dead canes and do any repair pruning then, too if the moose found them. I’ll do a post about fall garden cleanup in the next week or two. I hope.
      Get out the Carhartt’s, it’s chilly out there!

      Reply
  2. jocelynrish

    Congrats on getting your book at there, and best of luck with all the promotion. I know that will be my least favorite part on the whole publishing adventure.

    Wishing you a very productive #writemotivation month,
    Jocelyn

    Reply
    1. Tam Linsey Post author

      Thanks, Jocelyn. Write back at you – hehe!
      My greatest desire it to promote myself effectively without being annoying. Hard to do. I appreciate you stopping by.

      Reply
  3. Tam Linsey Post author

    Yep, and I’m not doing to well with the writing part so far 😦 It doesn’t help that 100mph winds took out our power and Internet most of the day yesterday. But I have a few weeks left to catch up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

